The Blank Book #1: My Most Anticipated Movies

This is something new I want to try. It can get a bit mundane just writing book reviews, TBR’s, etc. So this series, I guess, allows me to write about whatever I want. I mean my life does not revolve around books, I love a bunch of other things too. This time it’s movies, specifically my most anticipated movies for the rest of the year.

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Spider-Man is one of my favorite superheroes and my favorite Marvel hero so I was quite excited to see him in the MCU. Tom Holland was fantastic in Captain America: Civil War and his scenes with RDJ were even better. While I wish the 2nd trailer didn’t give away as much as it should have, I am still beyond excited for this movie. It’s the first Spider-Man movie where he is actually a teenager! The high school part of the movie seems more interesting than the action which is rare for me. I can’t wait for this movie!

Justice League

I know, I know, Zack Snyder has not really given us a reason to trust him. Batman v Superman was ok, but underwhelming. It just felt like he wanted to jam several years worth of movies to catch up to the MCU, although Ben Affleck was great as Batman.  Suicide Squad was solid on first viewing, but after a few more viewings, its flaws really start to show. The editing and writing is fairly bad, moreso the editing. It just did not match up with the movie. But I am still optimistic that he can at least make this an entertaining movie and the trailer showed some promising moments. He can’t possibly ruin this, right? (Please don’t ruin this, if there is one thing you must do right Zack Snyder it’s this movie.)

Kingsman_The_Golden_Circle

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

The first Kingsman remains one of my favorite action movies of all time especially the church scene. It was pretty much making fun of the Bond movies, but I loved it! Matthew Vaughn’s slick directing style complements this movie so well and the tongue-in-cheek tone fits the movie as well. The trailer for the sequel recently came out and it looks to be an even bigger and hopefully, better movie.

 

Thor: Ragnarok

I am a big fan of the MCU, although I have always found the Thor series to be the weakest of the main Avengers. It was just boring and a bit generic considering the main character is a Norse God. But the trailer for this movie was just so cool which I somewhat attribute to the great song choice. Plus Taika Waititi is one of my favorite directors (Hunt for the Wilderpeople is one of my favorite movies from 2016) who seems to be embracing the space-bounty hunter-esque tone that kinda borrows from the Guardians of the Galaxy which I am totally cool with.

 

Baby Driver

I am not a big fan of Ansel Elgort as the Divergent  film series is not very good besides the first one which was solid. But Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz is one of my favorite movies of all time) is my favorite director and the trailer just looks so awesome! I haven’t seen a movie like this for quite some time,  an action movie centered around heisting and cars. The last one I remember watching something like this was The Italian Job over 10 years ago. I just can’t wait for this movie, it looks like such a good time.

2 thoughts on “The Blank Book #1: My Most Anticipated Movies

Leave a Reply

