Blogger Recognition Award

This was unexpected and an awesome surprise. I was nominated for this award by Diary of a Bookfiend or Norin.  As someone who has only been blogging since February, this was a nice achievement.

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 10 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created

How I Started This Blog

To be honest, I was never really into reading as I am now. I liked to read, but I never really found the time or made the time to do it. It was not until last year when I became an avid reader after listening to Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I just began to love books. The worlds they create, the well-written characters, and the many moments of various feelings that books can create is unparalleled.

I have always loved to write. I have a writing app on my phone that I constantly write stories on, but I still wanted to improve. Blogging was something I would have never thought I would be doing. I liked to write, but I am not too keen on making it public. But as my love for books grew and grew, I decided to combine two things I loved and create a blog. All the while helping people find books they might love or books they might hate.

So on February of this year, I decided to create Book Mojo. I had no real plans for it and I just wanted to see what would happen. Four months later and it has been an absolute joy. With summer coming up, I expect to be even more devoted to this blog (Let’s hope, my laziness will not take over). I’m just seeing where this road takes me.

My Advice

I do not think I’m really qualified for this, but I’ll try my best.

First of all, write about things that you want to write about. Blogging should be a personal hobby not a daily chore. It should be something you enjoy, not something you loathe. Do not worry about the numbers, they will eventually come as more and more people grow to appreciate what you have written. I have seen too many people who have grown to hate their job, endlessly stuck in a routine, moving through the day as if they were checking off a list. Your writing should reflect the type of person you are and writing about what you want to write about will only help display the passion and qualities that you possess.

Secondly, interact with others. I know talking with other was not really my expertise growing up. As I got older, I learned that people don’t really suck that much as others want you to believe. In fact, they might even be nice and even awesome! I have learned through the first several months of blogging that in order to gain an audience you have to interact with others. And in the process, you can meet some awesome new people that share the same passion and interests as you do. Once you start to grow out of your shell, you can meet and become a part of a loving community with others who are just their to help you.

I Tag:

This has been a fun time writing this as I got to share my personal experience of starting this blog. Sorry if you have already been tagged or have done it already!

 

5 comments

  1. Superb post. U have explained so well thank you for tagging me… Will do it. Just give me some time to get a laptop and learn stuff… Oh my, I sound like somebody from the dark ages… Hehehe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading your blog start-up. I also found it quite similar to the reason why I started my blog; I had never been a big reader until a certain point nor had I never thought I would start blogging. But look at where we are now – amazing, isn’t it?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. How nice to hear about someone who only really got into reading recently – most of us book bloggers give the impression we were reading in the maternity ward! And your advice is excellent – blogging certainly should be a hobby and a pleasure, and when it starts to feel like work, that’s the time to take a break!

    Thanks so much for nominating me – I’m honoured! I’ll have to think if I have any useful advice to offer… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment